Bel Ami: PG-13 or R?

One of the questions we’re hearing now, is whether or not Bel Ami will be given a rating of PG-13 or R by the MPAA.

The MPAA’s definition of a PG-13 film includes some, but not all of the following criteria –More than brief nudity, generally will not be sexually oriented. There may be depictions of violence, but generally not both realistic and extreme or persistent violence. A motion picture’s single use of one of the harsher sexually-derived words, though only as an expletive, initially requires at least a PG-13 rating. More than one such expletive requires an R rating, as must even one of those words used in a sexual context.

Rated R – may include adult themes, adult activity, hard language, intense or persistent violence, sexually-oriented nudity, drug abuse or other elements.

Judging by the script, we will definitely have: adult activity and sexually-oriented nudity.

What the hell does all that mean?

Georges lying in the sweltering heat, only scantily covered by a white sheet.


Georges lying on top of someone (read: thrusting) in the sweltering heat, only very scantily covered by a white sheet.

And we’re dead.

There are several sex scenes in this movie, and by sex, we mean f*cking. There’s a scene that includes a quickie at a desk, a passionate encounter on the floor, one against a door, and that’s not even counting all that happens in various beds throughout Paris.

Example from the script:

“He forces her roughly to the floor, her body white and delicate against the red carpet. Then she curls her legs around him, and gives herself to him with an unexpected, ravenous passion.”

Our best guess is that although a rating of PG-13 may allow exposure to a greater audience, therefore more $$$$, there is no way they can pull this off without a solid R rating.

The link for the Motion Picture Association of America or MPAA’s rating system is here.

The link for the British Board of Film Classification or BBFC is here.

What do you guys think?

This entry was posted in Robert Pattinson and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Bel Ami: PG-13 or R?

  1. I dropped dead just by reading the first 6 lines of the script!

    Seriously, if the movie gets an R rating… My god ladies prepare for heart attacks!

  2. Mickeefan says:

    Maybe we should threaten to boycott unless it’s rated R? I know I was disappointed that Remember Me is only PG-13.

  3. adoradorasdelav says:

    I hope it’s rating R, need oxygen ladies!!!!
    OMG,

  4. Vanessarae says:

    Well I got a bit warm while reading the script last night…I can’t see how they can do less than an R rating. I mean, the first ‘love’ scene is blatantly described as ‘fucking’ against the wall. Hel-lo. Seems there are few fade-to-black instances, and more scenes where the sex is actually described, and a conversation is held during it…yeah, so not PG-13.

  5. 17 says:

    My heart skipped a beat when I read the opening line of your post. WTF?!! Who in their right mind would rate this film PG-13? I repeat. WTF??

  6. Kelly says:

    This should be an “R” rated movie simply for the adult nature of the script… if it is toned down to garner a PG13 rating I think something will be lost in the translation ….part of his desperation is conveyed in these adult natured scenes… his rise (pardon the pun) to a better life… and how he interacts with each of the women differently.

    And although I’m looking forward to seeing the “covered by a white sheet” scenes and the “Forced to the rug” scenes….I want to be lost in the movie.. I want to be lost in the character, although I know it’s Rob playing a character.. he will do the role well if I am able to forget it is him.

    BTW I think he will be able to do just that, make me forget it’s him…he dd when he played Dali… and Art.. who I loved 🙂

    That’s what I am hoping for anyway…was this tmi? for a comment?

    • WastingTheMorning says:

      It’s NEVER tmi around here 🙂

      I have great hope for Bel Ami after seeing him play another period type character in Little Ashes. He really pulled it off! The only time I was ever second hand embarrassed was when the Permanent Markered mustache made it’s first appearance.

    • 17 says:

      Kelly, it was definitely not tmi. You summed it up beautifully. Great comment!

  7. Pfluffy says:

    The english version of the book I read, left much to the imagination, but it sounds like the script is somewhat more explicit in his encounters with his lovers. The book is definitely filled with adult content so I think by giving it an R rating they will be able to give the audience more depth in the characters and their emotions.

  8. katie says:

    My guess is that the producers will do all they can do to get a PG-13 rating, simply because it means a bigger audience.

    And if it does turn out to be an R rated films, I hope theaters have ambulance’s on speed dial, cuz a LOT of ladies will be fainting.

  9. Twimarti says:

    How can they possibly do it WITHOUT an R rating and do the script justice? Anyone out there read the book? How book the book come across?

  10. Angie says:

    This movie is not for little girls so I say go with the R rating. We Twi-moms want to see Rob in action. : )

  11. samrosey says:

    I gave in and read the script!
    Haven’t read the book but the script was all kinds of yum 😉
    I can’t see it being a PG13 either. You would think the fact they have A-listers like Uma and that mixed with Rob it should bring in a big enough audience.

    I know there are some things you can get away with having PG13 but like you said, a lot of it’s fucking, not the romantical “love scenes” they can pull off usually in a PG13 film.

  12. sheila says:

    Hi i´m sheila and i´m fa

  13. arfalcon says:

    I think (hope, pray!) it’s going to be rated R. Based on one of the scripts floating around on the internet, there’s much more sex than in the English translation of the original. Plus it sounds like the script makes his character slightly less hateful than the original.

    • samrosey says:

      Ye from the version I read I didn’t hate him all that much to be honest.

      I think it’s a great role for him to get into. I’d like to see me some BAD Rob 😉

  14. Kneedshelp says:

    How about a NC-17 and some full frontal male nudity???

  15. Beth says:

    I’d read the novella and the script. The novella, for the era in which it was written, had to have been scandalous. It is definitely graphic in that the reader is given details about where, when, and how the trysts occur, so the script is in keeping with the storyline.

    I don’t know how it would be possible in any way imaginable to rate this any less than R as it’s about an amoral man who will screw any and every woman he can just to serve his own agenda of being rich and successful.

    If it were a less-inhibited actor playing the part, I wouldn’t be surprised if the studio went for NC-17 as the script and book could both be party to the graphic scenes such as Eyes Wide Shut had.

    With that, I say, “I cannot WAIT for this movie.”

  16. Any thoughts of Rob’s character “thrusting” has me already sitting here dumbfounded with extreme loss of brain function. O.o

    So….you lost me at “thrusting”

  17. suzspetals says:

    Personally, I’d like to imagine that Rob took the role with the understanding it would absolutely be R, specifically to further distance himself from the teeny bopper crowd. By now I’m sure he and the producers are aware there’s a whole ‘nother audience (we sluts) out there salivating for a mature movie and/or nekkid Rob. Come on, R!

    • 17forverlisa says:

      Hey, Suz, glad you found your way over here! I totally agree with you. Rob had to have been dying to get into a meatier (she said that) role. Enough of the vegetarion diet 😉

      Lisa

      • suzspetals says:

        Is it slightly disturbing that so many women are this obsessed over the rating of a movie that has yet to shoot one frame? Buncha horny bitches;)

  18. Miriam says:

    Either way it is going to be freaking awsome! Robert can make people heavy breathe with a PG rating…LOL 🙂

  19. live4ska says:

    Was wondering if it will be a 15 or an 18 here in the UK. It is quite unusual for films rated 18 to be of a ‘sexual nature’, they are more violent or bloody. I reckon it will be rated 15 here, things like American Pie and some Rom-Coms are fairly sexually explicit and they get such a rating.
    (haha, to American 16&17 yr olds :p)

    • samrosey says:

      haha ye that is true, usually if something’s an 18 here I think horror/gore before anything else.
      Before all this I don’t think i’ve ever been bothered bout a film’s rating in this sense… but we’re all wanting the goods 😉 so we can’t help ourelves!

  20. PunkyBumpkin says:

    I really don’t see how it could be PG-13. I’ve only read through some of the script, but the descriptions of some of the scenes just don’t seem like they’d make the PG-13 cut. *fans self*

    I know they are well aware that Rob has lots of younger fans, but this story is NOT a kids story, and hopefully they are just as aware of the HUGE amount of very adult fans he has as well.

    Also, Uma & Christina are what I would call R-rated actresses… having done a lot of edgier films in their own rights. Maybe I’m being too optimistic, but I’m thinking they won’t shy away too hard from an R rating. Needless to say, I’ll be VERY pissed if they do. LOL

  21. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  22. Nina says:

    If anyone has a link or copy of thee script and they want to do a random act of kindness today i would greatly appreciate it. If someone does i’ll reply with my email 🙂

  23. Nina I have the script…Let me know where you want to send it…

  24. Twilighthought says:

    I think it is time that us ladies!!!! (well we are ladies aren’t we 🙂 have Rob in a film that we can drool over and not just the 14 years olds. I always insist that Stephanie Meyers should have written a steaming over 18’s version of Breaking dawn. So it going to be great if Bel ami is rated R, maybe we should have a ladies nights out just to go and see the film without the hubby, although thinking again with Uma Thurman and Christina Ricci maybe we could drag them along, they might learn something.
    I read the script last night it great, hot and I am willing to pass on for others to enjoy.

    • Michelle says:

      I am late boarding this party train. I only just got my hands on the book. Needless to say, I was shocked at the mature nature of the story. Even though the “encounters” were not described in detail it still warrants an R rating. I would really like to get a copy of the script prior to the movie release if you would be so kind. I am sure you were taken up on your offer MANY times over. I hope you can oblige 🙂 Thanks

  25. CamiThomson says:

    Would u mind sending it my way, pls? 😉
    I’m begining to be interested in this movie. Everyone seems so into it.
    camillethomson@live.com
    Thanks in advance! 🙂
    Cheers!

  26. CamiThomson Just send the script to u

    Enjoy

  27. samrosey says:

    Think i’m gonna get the book next week, after reading the script even though I know there’s bound to have been changes I want more 😉 and it was a good read.

  28. Sue says:

    There is no possible way that this movie can be nothing LESS than an R rating. I read the script last night….and OH MY!! Rob wants to take on “juicier” roles and I think he wants to show that he is diverse. The roles that he has already played…Dali….Art(which I LOVED “How to Be”) and even the Twilight series…which I’m a huge fan of- things can only go up for him. So….bring on the thrusting,the heavy breathing, the “white sheet” and leave the movie theatre to the OVER 18 crowd!

  29. gyla. this is going to be so f-- says:

    oh shit i can’t wait this is going to be so f–king hot.can’t be less than R .

  30. SanguineTaurean says:

    OH. MY. GOD. Thrusting. Forced to the floor. Possible R rating. -THUD- Oxygen? Mouth-to-mouth, please? PUH-LEEZE?

    Honey, he looks good in anything but turn of the century clothing? Mmmmm, Mmmmm, Mmmmm. Same as when he was in Vanity Fair. Scene was deleted for a more upbeat ending but it is on the dvd. HAWT!

  31. Ashley says:

    Umm it needs to be rated r im 17 one of robs older fans and i want to see more mature movies from him

  32. mackenzie says:

    if the movie is rated r and if the producers want a pg-13 they can go to the company they work for an file a appeal but they will have to use one non-sexual f**k

  33. Sue says:

    Has there been anything posted on what the rating will be??? I can’t seem to find anything.

  34. Word4word says:

    PG or PG-13. A mere mention of sex even if it is a clitoris or penis does not mean that it is descriptive enough to show on screen. In the passage used as an example, for instance, there is not even mention of any nudity other than random white skin and legs, which would make the scene PG, except for the fact that the scene suggests kinky sex which would escalate the rating to a PG-13, but no R. Just because the novel even mentions legs doesn’t necessarily mean they are even visible. Of course, in typical Hollywood fashion, the scene was probably exaggerated just to get an R.

  35. Arias says:

    I absolutly loved the book! But sadly…. I’m underaged….. My only complaint is that I wouldn’t be let into the theatre. I can pass for an adult (They don’t let me buy a kids ticket unless I show my school Id at the theaters), but I’ll get asked for an id either way if I try to buy a ticket… And there are guards by every door so I can’t buy a ticket and sneak in…. Is it creepy that I liked the book and I’m only 14????

Leave a Reply

